Let’s talk about menstrual cycles, ladies.

If you don’t want to talk about periods, tune out now.  Warned you!

That being said, this really isn’t gross. I am interested in how to time my fitness activities with my cycle – I just feel totally different throughout the month and wanted to know when I should do various types of workouts.  So, I boiled down the information I found online via various sources to this:

Our menstrual cycles consist of ever-changing hormonal profiles that can impact our strength, flexibility and endurance throughout the month. Creating a training plan that takes into consideration the impact of our hormones will lead to greater effectiveness, as well as a greater connection with our body – it is an act of honoring our body.

1. Day 1 is the start of your menstrual cycle – normal bleeds are 3 to 5 days.  This is time to lay on the couch. 🙂  OK, maybe stretch. Maybe.

2. Follicular phase (roughly days 5 – 14, varies among women): usually you’ll feel upbeat and outgoing; consider experimenting with new classes and new movements

2. Ovulatory (days 7/10-10/14): you’ll often feel a surge in energy, a great time to do some HIIT training or go for a personal record!

3. Luteal (days 10/14-28): your energy steadily decreases and you may feel more introspective – yoga, walking, and Pilates are great options for this phase.

So, there you have it – that’s easy, right?  I’m going to test and see if my body likes these guidelines this month.

One thought on “Let’s talk about menstrual cycles, ladies.

  1. Thanks for this information! I would read anything you posted about our moon cycles. I really would like to make it a less taboo subject. But that may take a while in our society.

    Like

Leave a Reply

