Bed making

Totally not spiritual – but I like this podcast by Gretchen Rubin called “Happier” – about (you guessed it) – being happy! I am generally pretty damn happy, but I like her studies, tips, things to try, etc. 

One of her “try this at home” suggestions was simple – making your bed each morning. Not for reasons of cleanliness or rule following, but because that simple act can make you feel organized, put together, and like you’re starting your day in a calm way. I love a nicely made bed, but I’m admittedly bad about skipping it in favor of things that seem more important. 

So, I tried it – and you know…it does help. It’s a small accomplishment, but it seems to set me up positively for the day. And it’s so nice crawling into a clean bed at night…

I do wonder if this is nice for me specifically because it’s not been my norm…I remember my mom always making my parents’ bed every day, so I’m not sure if it would have the same effect on someone who’s always done it?

Regardless, it makes me just a little happier each day, so I call it a win.

One thought on “Bed making

Leave a Reply

