adapted hymn, yes?

Many pagans/pantheists that I know have history with the Christian church, and sometimes that brings baggage – like not feeling comfortable with words that were used often.  I’ve had my share of working out with words like “lord”, “prayer”, “praise”, etc.

but, as I grow and learn, I am seeing those terms for the broader, unconditioned meanings they have in every faith, including my own.  I am learning to see prayer as something good and available to me outside the Christian church.  I’ve also come across some songs recorded by Christian artists that, when I think of them as relates to the overall Divine, they are really moving and amazing.  Like the following, which I love…an old hymn, re-done in my mind.  feel free to read “lord” and “he” as anything that is meaningful to you – he, she, god, goddess, lady, divine, universe, etc….

sort of makes me want to put the windows down, drive, and sing my version of praise music!

 

the words:

praise to the lord, the almighty, the king of creation

o my soul praise him for he is thy health and salvation

all ye who hear, now to his temple draw near
praise him in glad adoration

praise to the lord, who o’er all things so wondrously reigneth

shelters thee under his wings, yea, so gently sustaineth

hast thou not seen how thy desires e’er have been granted in what he ordaineth?

praise to the lord, who doth prosper thy work and defend thee

surely his goodness and mercy here daily attend thee

ponder anew what the almighty can do, if with his love he befriend thee

praise to the lord, oh let all that is in me adore him

all that hath life and breath, come now with praises before him

let the amen sound from his people again
gladly for e’er we adore him

hallelujah….

Leave a Reply

