prayer for the day

I recently wrote about my own internal process of reconciling myself with some terms and ideas that I relate to Christianity, which, in truth, are much broader.  one of those is the idea of prayer.

where I used to feel that prayer is a uniquely christian-based act, over time, I have realized it is far from it – our conception of prayer and addressing the divine existed for centuries before the christ was even an idea.

yesterday, I awoke to news of a mass shooting in orlando.  I will not make any commentary here – I simply don’t feel up to it, except to say that I can’t wrap my mind around such hate. normally, the news doesn’t get to me, but this act really began to bother me as I read about it.  I felt helpless.  and it occurred to me, the only thing I felt I could do was offer prayers.

so, I referred to my handy “book of pagan prayer” for something to bring comfort, and I wanted to share and record some here…hopefully they are a source of comfort and strength to someone out there reading, regardless of the deity or divinity your heart and spirit choose to address.

“with your soothing fingers,
wipe away the lines that worries have etched on our faces.
surround us with calm,
let us rest in the glow of peace,
as if we were encircled with the Moon’s own light.
let our concerns and tensions drain from us,
pouring as water into your Earth.
accept our troubles
and transform them into wonders.”

“I drop these fears into your ocean
and watch them sink from sight.
I place these fears on your broad Earth
and see them rot away.
I put these fears into your hands
and they are no more.
When you offer your arms to me,
Great Mother,
your hands hold nothing but love.”

and so it is.
prayers for all of us.

Leave a Reply

