see my heart

at last week’s retreat, we did this amazingly powerful heart sharing and holding exercise/ritual. I can’t really put words to it, but it was striking, and left a deep impression on most of us (I think/feel).  it is quite rare that we bare our hearts, and even more rare for them to be held, silently but fully, without a word being uttered.

as we walked out that night, I heard this song clearly in my mind and heart….fittingly called Vide Cor Meum – or, in english, See My Heart.  opera doesn’t always sing to my heart (see what I did there?), but this makes my heart close its eyes and sway around, no lie.

(the video below with the song is simply scenes from a film – not related. although I do love that film too!)

 

when the latin is translated, you get the words below – while they aren’t explicitly describing what we experienced….in some way, they feel like what we experienced to me.

being seen.

see my heart.

 

And thinking of her
Sweet sleep overcame me
I am your master
See your heart
And of this burning heart
Your heart
(She trembling)
Obediently eats.
Weeping, I saw him then depart from me.
Joy is converted
To bitterest tears
I am in peace
My heart
I am in peace
See my heart
Leave a Reply

