Chakras 101: Manipura, The Solar Plexus Chakra

from yoganonymous

The solar plexus is the center of power, pride, and self-worth. Get to know this important energy center of your body below.

The chakras are the seven main energy centers in the body where we receive, absorb and distribute life energies. They are located along the spine, starting at the base and running upwards to the crown of the head. The chakras are described as “whirling wheels of light” and each chakra radiates a specific color and energy. Each chakra relates to specific spiritual, emotional, psychological and physical issues. Balancing these energy centers leads to our well-being.

These seven chakras can become blocked through external situations and internal habits such as long-held tension in the body or staying stuck in our thoughts about things past or constant worry about the future. As a result, a chakra can become either deficient or excessive.  Therefore this chakra is imbalanced. Practicing mantras that correspond to each chakra can release these blocks and clear the path to more joyful living. Love yourself, love your day, love your life!

Manipura, The Solar Plexus Chakra

About Solar Plexus Chakra:

This chakra influences how you show up in the world and your sense of pride and self-worth. When balanced you recognize and support your needs, values, emotions, and intentions as your own best advocate. The third chakra influences ones ability to participate fully and engage in life, and to take action. Just make sure it’s what you really value otherwise you may become a workaholic.

If this chakra isn’t working properly you may you feel as though the world is against you and everything is out of your control.

Location: Navel is located at the solar plexus (between belly button and bottom of rib cage).

Intention: Emancipation

Your Rights: Your Right to Act

Self-work: Self-definition

Identity: Ego Identity

Affirmation: I am free

Color: Yellow-gold

Element: Fire

Sense: Sight

Healing Stones: Amber, topaz, citrine, yellow calcite, yellow jasper

Third Chakra Mantras:

  • May I be true to myself
  • May I express who I am without fear
  • I honor myself
  • I accomplish tasks easily and effortlessly
  • The fire within me burns through all blocks and fear
  • I honor the power within me
  • I can do whatever I will to do

“We have no reason to harbor any mistrust against our world, for it is not against us. It has terrors, they are our terrors. If there are dangers at hand, we must try to love them. And if only we arrange our life according to that principle which counsels us that we must always hold to the difficult, then that which now still seems to us the most alien will become our most intimate and trusted experience.” – Rainer Maria Rilke



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s